Moving On and Starting Over

Just another WordPress.com site

There’s nothing like a New York pizza

Photo Courtesy: MafiaMikesPizza.com

The Tri-State area: home to me, little Italy, some of the most notorious mafia bosses, MTV’s Jersey Shore, and my favorite, pizza! New York and New Haven both have their own style that the area is proud of. (And then you have those holes in the wall places that still are better pizza than you can get anywhere else in the country.) When I moved to Los Angeles I knew the pizza would be a little different, but I didn’t think it would be nonexistent.

And no, Dominos and Pizza Hut don’t count.

So when I went home this past week my goal was to eat as much pizza as I could. PaPa’s Pizza 2 in Milford, Frank Pepe Pizzeria Napoletana in New Haven, Colony Grill in Fairfield and my newest find Roseland Apizza in Derby. All have their own style and taste.

Pepe’s is famous for their brick oven, burnt bottom pie where Colony’s famous pie is called a hot oil pizza topped with a single pepperoncini. After all of the pizza I ate in a matter of eight days, I think it’s safe to say I am not going to be craving pizza anytime soon.

April 12, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment